Grand Slam of Darts 2022 – World cup of Darts Preview, When, Where and everything

by Kent Green
0 comment

The Grand Slam of Darts 2022 will return at Wolverhampton for its sixteenth iteration, which will occur between November 12 and November 20.

The big darts season is almost here, and this has piqued the interest of lovers worldwide who follow the sport. Soon, we will have the pleasure of watching great names like Michael van Gerwen, Gerwyn Price, Gary Anderson, and many more smash 180s for fun on the international stage. This will be a joy for all of us.

Gerwyn Price, a Welshman, triumphed in the competition one year ago, defeating Peter “The Snakebite” Wright in the championship match with relative ease, 16-68.

The group stage draw has been finalized, and it has been determined that Gerwyn Price will compete against Dave Chisnall and Raymond van Barneveld at the Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts in 2022. Peter Wright and Fallon Sherrock will continue their long-running competition on the tournament’s first night.

When will the Grand Slam of Darts 2022, and where will it be held?

The following dates have been set for the Grand Slam of Darts in 2022:

  • Date of Commencement: Saturday, November 12, 2022
  • Date of termination: Sunday, November 20, 2022

Get ready to throw darts every night during this period since the big tournament will include this game.

How to watch Grand Slam of Darts 2022 Live

Where will the Grand Slam of Darts 2022 be held?

Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton, located in the United Kingdom, will serve as the venue for the competition.

After the regular tournament in 2020 was disrupted by Covid-19 and was forced to be played behind closed doors at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, this event is being hosted at the exact location for the second year. This is the 2nd year in a row that it has been held here.

Grand Slam of Darts 2022 Preview

From November 12 to the 20th, the prestigious Eric Bristow Trophy and the first-place prize of £150,000 will be up for grabs at the tournament that will be held at the Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton. The event will include 32 players.

The draw put defending champion Price in Group A with Masters runner-up Chisnall, 2012 champion Van Barneveld, and World Youth Champion Ted Evetts. Price is the current champion of the tournament.

Price has triumphed in all three Grand Slam competitions that have been held at the Aldersley Leisure Village. The current world number one will begin his quest for a fourth victory on the first day of the event against Evetts in a match that promises to be a blockbuster.

Runner-up three times in a row Both Wright and Sherrock will compete against each other in the group stage for the second year. The two competitors are gearing up for a rematch of their exciting quarterfinal match from the previous year’s competition.

World Champion Wright and Women’s World Matchplay winner Sherrock will be joined in Group E by World Grand Prix runner-up Nathan Aspinall and Scottish debutant Alan Soutar. Wright won the World Championship, and Sherrock won the Women’s World Matchplay.

Read more: How to watch UK Championship 2022 Snooker Date, Time, Schedule and more.

In Group G, three-time winner Michael van Gerwen will compete against newly crowned European Champion Ross Smith. Also included in the group are qualifier Luke Woodhouse and 2021 World Youth Championship finalist Nathan Rafferty.

Group C features the likes of Masters champion Joe Cullen, Women’s Series Order of Merit winner Lisa Ashton, and newcomer Ritchie Edhouse. After advancing through the Tour Card Holder Qualifier on Sunday, they joined the group. Michael Smith is the group’s headlining player.

Rob Cross, a previous World Champion, and Dirk van Duijvenbode, who finished second in the World Series Finals, are two players competing in Group D. They will face off against Martin Schindler, a German star, and Adam Gawlas, a Czech youth.

In other news, Jonny Clayton is scheduled to face North American Champion Leonard Gates on the first day of the competition. Damon Heta, winner of the World Cup of Darts, and Jermaine Wattimena, a Dutch qualifier, will round up the Group F participants.

Sixth seed Luke Humphries is the leader of an exciting Group H, including rising star Josh Rock, runner-up in the Players Championship Finals Ryan Searle, and the winner of the Challenge Tour Order of Merit, Scott Williams. All of these players will compete for spots in the round of 16.

Meanwhile, Danny Noppert, who won the UK Open, and Simon Whitlock, who won the World Cup, are both in Group B. They will be joined by Mensur Suljovic, who reached the semifinals of the 2018 World Cup, and Christian Perez, who won the PDC Asian Championship.

In addition to the announcement that this year’s Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts would offer a record-breaking £650,000 prize pool, the play schedule for Saturday has also been finalized.

You may also like

Leave a Comment