UFC 279 Diaz vs Chimaev: Start Times, How to Watch, Fight Card, Predictions and PPV

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

The UFC 279: Chimaev vs Diaz is coming to the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada on September 10, 2022, for a night of fights. The main event will be a welterweight bout between Khamzat Chimaev and Nate Diaz.

This weekend in Las Vegas, there will be an unusual showdown. UFC 279 returns to the T-Mobile Arena with a one-of-a-kind PPV headliner, to say the least, as rising welterweight contender Khamzat Chimaev takes on fan favorite Nate Diaz.

Chimaev (11-0) stormed his way into the UFC like no other fighter before him. In his first four UFC fights, he landed a total of 112 strikes while only taking one hit. Four straight knockouts prepared him for a huge step up in competition against recent welterweight title challenger Gilbert Burns. Chimaev outgunned Burns in a Fight of the Night decision victory.

Diaz (20-13) has accused the promotion of tying him down to his contract. Diaz became a cult icon after his submission victory against Conor McGregor at UFC 196. However, he has often clashed with UFC executives, causing negotiations to stagnate. Diaz has only fought five times in the last six years, whilst Chimaev has fought five times in the last two.

The undercard is rounded out by a couple of huge stars looking to make a big impression. Tony Ferguson, a former lightweight contender, returns to try to rebuild his career at 170 pounds against Li Jingliang. Ferguson comes in on a four-fight losing streak. In addition, action is expected early and frequently when Kevin Holland and Daniel Rodriguez square off in a featured 180-pound battle.

The whole UFC 279 fight card is available below, along with the most recent odds from Caesars Sportsbook. Check back throughout the week for the most recent news, stories, and other information related to this big event.

When and where will UFC 279 be held?

The event is scheduled for Saturday, September 10 at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

When does the UFC 279 early preliminary and preliminary show first off?

The early preliminary card kicks off at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. GMT (Saturday, September 10). Meanwhile, the preliminary card will begin at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Saturday, September 10) | 12 a.m. GMT

When does the main event of UFC 279: Chimaev vs. Diaz begin?

The main event kicks off at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Saturday, September 10) | 2 a.m. GMT

What channel is UFC 279 broadcasting on?

ESPN+ is a television channel.
ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass provide live streams.
The main program for UFC 279 is available for a pay-per-view fee in the United States and Mexico on the ESPN+ subscription streaming service.

Earlier fights can be seen live on ESPN+, the WatchESPN app, and, for early preliminary fights, UFC Fight Pass.

The main card pay-per-view is available in Canada on TSN, Bell, Rogers, Shaw, Eastlink, and UFC PPV via UFC Fight Pass.

The main card will be broadcast on BT Sport in the United Kingdom, with the preliminary fights available on UFC Fight Pass.

The main card will air on Main Event, Kayo Sports, FOXTEL, and UFC PPV on UFC Fight Pass in Australia.

Price of Khamzat Chimaev vs. Nate Diaz: How much does UFC 279 cost?
$74.99 (for existing ESPN+ subscribers)
$99.98 (new subscribers)
The UFC 279 main card is accessible in the United States via pay-per-view on ESPN+, which also requires a subscription. For current subscribers, the PPV fee for UFC 279 is $74.99. New customers can pay a combined price of $99.98 for the UFC 279 pay-per-view and an ESPN+ annual subscription, saving more than 30%.

READ MORE: ALL MMA UPDATE

UFC 279 Fight Card:

Main Card: Welterweight Bout: Khamzat Chimaev vs. Nate Diaz

Early Prelims

  • Darian Weeks vs Yohan Lainesse – Welterweight Bout
  • Melissa Martinez vs Elise Reed – Women’s Strawweight Bout
  • Chad Anheliger vs Alatengheili – Bantamweight Bout
  • Norma Dumont vs Danyelle Wolf – Women’s Featherweight Bout

Prelims

  • Jake Collier vs Chris Barnett – Heavyweight Bout
  • Denis Tiuliuin vs Jamie Pickett – Middleweight Bout
  • Jailton Almeida vs Anton Turkalj – Catchweight Bout
  • Hakeem Dawodu vs Julian Erosa – Featherweight Bout

Main Card

  • Johnny Walker vs Ion Cutelaba – Light Heavyweight Bout
  • Irene Aldana vs Macy Chiasson – Women’s Bantamweight Bout
  • Kevin Holland vs Daniel Rodriguez – Catchweight Bout
  • Li Jingliang vs Tony Ferguson – Welterweight Bout
  • Khamzat Chimaev vs Nate Diaz – Welterweight Bout

 

You may also like

Leave a Comment