The 2022 Davis Cup Finals: Teams, Groups, Schedule and Venues and more

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

The 2022 Davis Cup Finals is an international tennis tournament that is played between teams from different countries. The tournament is organized by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is held every year. The Davis Cup Finals is the most important event in the Davis Cup calendar and is contested by the top 16 teams in the world. The Finals are played over five days, with four matches each day.

16 teams will contest the Davis Cup Finals. These teams will be divided into four groups four. Each team will play the other three teams in their group. The top two teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals. The quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will be played over a period of three days.

2022 Davis Cup Finals Group Stage Preview:

The Davis Cup Finals will begin with the group stage. This stage will be played over a period of five days, from September 13-18, 2022. There will be four groups of four teams. Each team will play the other three teams in their group. The top two teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals.

The group stage will be played on a round-robin basis. This means each team will play the other teams in their group once. Each match will be played over a period of three days. The first two days will be for the singles matches, and the third day will be for the doubles match.

The group stage Davis Cup Finals will be played on a home-and-away basis. This means that each team will play two of their group matches at home and two of their group matches away. The home team will decide which city the match will be played in.

The 2022 Davis Cup Finals will begin with the group stage on Tuesday (September 13), with 16 nations competing for the title in matches contested across four sites. The 16 nations have been grouped into four groups of four teams, with each team playing the three other teams in their respective groups in a round-robin best-of-three format – two singles and one doubles match. Group A will play at Bologna (Italy), Group B in Valencia (Spain), Group C in Hamburg (Germany), and Group D in Glasgow from September 13 to 17. (Scotland). Russia, the reigning champions, qualified for the group stage but was later barred owing to the ongoing crisis in Ukraine. Serbia was picked as their substitute, while Canada and the United Kingdom were given wildcard participation. The top two after the group round will advance to the knockouts, which will be contested in Malaga, Spain, from November 22 to November 27.

The following are the teams, groups, schedule, and venues for the 2022 Davis Cup Finals:

2022 Davis Cup Finals Venues:

● Unipol Arena, Bologna – Group A Matches
● Pavello Municipal Font de Sant Lluis, Valencia – Group B Matches
● Am Rothenbaum, Hamburg – Group C Matches
● Emirates Arena, Glasgow – Group D Matches
● Martin Carpena Arena – Knock Out Matches

2022 Davis Cup Finals Groups:

Group A: Argentina, Croatia, Italy, Sweden

Group B: Canada,  Serbia, South Korea, Spain

Group C: Australia,  Belgium,  France, Germany

Group D: Great Britain, Kazakhstan,  Netherlands, USA


Teams and Captains for the 2022 Davis Cup Finals:

Argentina’s Group A players are Diego Schwartzman, Francisco Cerundolo, Sebastian Baez, Horacio Zeballos, and Maximo Gonzalez. Guillermo Coria is the captain.

Borna Coric, Borna Gojo, Nino Serdarusic, Mate Pavic, and Nikola Mektic from Croatia. Vedran Martic is the captain.

Italy’s players include Jannik Sinner, Matteo Berrettini, Lorenzo Musetti, Fabio Fognini, and Simone Bolelli. Filippo Volandri is the captain.

Mikael Ymer, Elias Ymer, Dragos Nicolae Madaras, Jonathan Mridha, and Andre Goransson from Sweden. Johan Hedsberg is the captain.

Canada’s Group B players are Felix Auger-Aliassime, Vasek Pospisil, Alexis Galarneau, and Gabriel Diallo. Frank Dancevic is the captain.

Miomir Kecmanovic, Filip Krajinovic, Laslo Dere, Dusan Lajovic, and Nikola Cacic for Serbia. Viktor Troicki is the captain.

Kwon Soon-woo, Hong Seong-chan, Nam Ji-sung, and Song Min-kyu from South Korea. Seungkyu Park is the captain.

Carlos Alcaraz, Roberto Bautista Agut, Albert Ramos Vinolas, Pedro Martinez, and Marcel Granollers are all from Spain. Sergi Bruguera is the captain.

Alex de Minaur, Thanai Kokkinakis, Jason Jubler, Max Purcell, and Matt Ebden are the Australians in Group C. Lleyton Hewitt is the captain.

David Goffin, Zizou Bergs, Michael Geerts, Sander Gille, and Joran Vliegen from Belgium. Johan Van Herck is the captain.

Adrian Mannarino, Benjamin Bonzi, Arthur Rinderknech, Richard Gasquet, and Nicolas Mahut represent France. Sebastien Grosjean is the captain.

Germany’s lineup includes Yannick Hanfmann, Oscar Otte, Jan-Lennard Struff, Tim Putz, and Kevin Krawietz. Michael Kohlmann is the captain.

D Group

Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans, Andy Murray, Joe Salisbury, and Neal Skupski for the United Kingdom. Leon Smith is the captain.

Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Aleksandr Nedovyesov, and Andrey Golubev from Kazakhstan. Yuri Schukin is the captain.

Tallon Griekspoor, Tim van Rijthoven, Wesley Koolhof, and Matwe Middelkoop from the Netherlands. Paul Haarhuis is the captain.

Taylor Fritz, Tommy Paul, Jack Sock, and Rajeev Ram represent the United States. Bob Bryan is the captain.

2022 Davis Cup Finals Group Stage Schedule

September 13Argentina vs. SwedenABologna
September 13Canada vs. South KoreaBValencia
September 13Belgium vs. AustraliaCHamburg
September 13Kazakhstan vs. the NetherlandsDGlasgow
September 14Croatia vs. ItalyABologna
September 14Spain vs. SerbiaBValencia
September 14France vs. GermanyCHamburg
September 14Great Britain vs USADGlasgow
September 15Croatia vs. SwedenABologna
September 15Serbia vs. South KoreaBValencia
September 15France vs. AustraliaCHamburg
September 15USA vs. KazakhstanDGlasgow
September 16Italy vs. ArgentinaABologna
September 16Spain vs. CanadaBValencia
September 16Germany vs. BelgiumCHamburg
September 16Great Britain vs NetherlandsDGlasgow
September 17Croatia vs. ArgentinaABologna
September 17Canada vs. SerbiaBValencia
September 17France vs. BelgiumCHamburg
September 17USA vs NetherlandsDGlasgow
September 18Italy vs. SwedenABologna
September 18Spain vs. South KoreaBValencia
September 18Germany vs. AustraliaCHamburg
September 18Great Britain vs. KazakhstanDGlasgow

2022 Davis Cup Finals Knock-Out Stage Schedule:

November 22Quarterfinal 1Group D Winner vs. Group C Runner UpMalaga
November 23Quarterfinal 2Group B Winner vs. Group A Runner UpMalaga
November 24Quarterfinal 3Group A Winner vs. Group B Runner UpMalaga
November 24Quarterfinal 4Group C Winner vs. Group D Runner UpMalaga
November 25Semifinal 2Quarterfinal 3 Winner vs. Quarterfinal 4 WinnerMalaga
November 26Semifinal 1Quarterfinal 1 Winner vs. Quarterfinal 2 WinnerMalaga
November 27FinalSemifinal 1 Winner vs. Semifinal 2 WinnerMalaga

You may also like

Leave a Comment