2022 WTA Finals Format, Live Broadcast, Schedule, Prize pool & everything you should know

by Kent Green
0 comment

The 2022 WTA Finals will be held in Fort Worth, Texas, and the groups for the round-robin portion of the prestigious year-end championships were drawn on Friday night.

When does this year’s tournament begin?

The Hologic WTA Tour season-ending championships are called the WTA Finals. The top 8 singles players and doubles teams from the season-long Race to the WTA Finals Leaderboard (which only counts ranking points earned this season) compete in a round-robin tournament.

The Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas, will host the WTA Finals that year. An indoor hard court tournament will be used with the Wilson US Open Regular Duty ball.

This coming Monday, October 31, and Saturday, November 5, is the group stage. Sunday, November 6, is Semifinals Day.

How to watch the 2022 WTA Finals Live Broadcast

You can watch the All Tennis Championship including the 2022 WTA Finals on Tennis Network.

2022 WTA Finals Format and all details

During the first six days of the tournament, each singles player and doubles team will play against everyone else in their respective group. After the round-robin matches, the top two players or teams from each group will move on to the single-elimination semifinals.
Leader in the entire world, The Tracy Austin Group, is headed by Iga Swiatek, who has won eight titles this season between Roland Garros and the US Open. The four groups are named after legendary American champions, including Austin, a former world No. 1 in singles.

Swiatek’s match against No. 4 seed Coco Gauff in the Roland Garros final will be a rematch in the round-robin. Swiatek, 21, and Gauff, 18, the two youngest competitors, are both members of the Tracy Austin Group.

Additionally, the Tracy Austin Group consists of No. 6 seed Caroline Garcia, who has won three titles this year, and No. 8 seed Daria Kasatkina, who has won two titles in 2022.

The Nancy Richey Group is led by No. 2 seed Ons Jabeur, who advanced to her first Grand Slam finals at both Wimbledon and the US Open this year. The third-seeded Jessica Pegula, who won her first WTA 1000 title in Guadalajara last week, was placed in the same group as Nancy Richey.
The Nancy Richey Group is rounded out by No. 5 seed Maria Sakkari and No. 7 seed Aryna Sabalenka, returning players to the WTA Finals singles tournament.

The Rosie Casals Group is led by the top-seeded doubles team of Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova of the Czech Republic. This year, Krejcikova and Siniakova won three Grand Slam titles, including the US Open, for the Career Golden Slam.

Those in third place, Krejcikova, and Siniakova are in the same group as Gauff and Pegula. Gauff and Pegula are this year’s only two players to advance to the tournament proper in both singles and doubles.

Read: Here you know every Tennis Championship News.

When and where do the 2022 WTA Finals take place?

Fort Worth, Texas, USA, will play host to the WTA Finals.

Before its 2019 relocation to Shenzen, China, the convention had been held annually in Singapore.

Due to the COVID pandemic, two tournaments had to be canceled, and the WTA has suspended tournaments in China following allegations made by player Peng Shuai against the Chinese government. The new contract was supposed to last until 2028.

The tournament was last held in Guadalajara, Mexico, in 2016.

Dates for the 2022 WTA Final

Played daily from Monday, October 31, through Saturday, November 5, in a round-robin format (two singles matches and two doubles matches).
Sunday, November 6, is the semifinal day.
Conclusion: Monday, November 7

What are the rules of the format?

The 2022 WTA Finals feature a round-robin format for both the singles and doubles competitions. The teams and players have been divided into two groups, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semifinal round. The first-place finisher in each bracket will face the runner-up in the other frame.
The remaining two games, the semifinal and final, will be played in the traditional knockout format.

Prize pool of 2022 WTA Finals?

The WTA Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, features a total prize pool of $5,000,000. Each match is worth a certain number of points and a certain amount of money to the players, regardless of the outcome.
There will be a $110,000 entry fee for the singles tournament and additional winnings of $110,000 for each match won during the round-robin stage. Getting to the semifinals means an extra $30,000 USD for the player. In the event of a win in the semifinals, the prize money increases to $420,000 USD. You will receive an extra $820,000 USD if you win the championship.

The prize pool for the doubles tournament is $100,000 (with a $20,000 increment for each match victory). Every team that makes it to the final four will receive an extra $5,000 USD. If you make it to the semifinals, you’ll receive an extra $80,000. Win the championship would result in an additional $170,000 USD in prize money.
Score 125 points for each match played, plus 125 points for each round-robin victory, 330 points for a semifinal victory, and 420 points for a championship victory.

You may also like

Leave a Comment