2022 Billie Jean King Cup: How to watch, format, schedule, live stream and preview

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

Despite the absence of a few big names, the 2022 Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Glasgow will still include a number of the world’s best women’s players. Here is everything you need to know about the competition.

In a national team matchplay style, the Billie Jean King Cup will put some of the world’s best tennis players against one another. Several great female tennis players will compete against their countrymen for the prize.

Great Britain is missing Emma Raducanu due to injury, but their lineup includes Harriet Dart, Katie Boulter, and Heather Watson. According to the WTA Rankings, Team USA has the most robust lineup of finalists. Jessica Pegula, No. 4 Coco Gauff, and No. 11 Madison Keys are all competing.

Suppose the women’s game has taught us anything in recent years. In that case, ranking is meaningless, with few mighty powers and unpredictable results all adding to fascinating events.

EM2SPORTS has compiled a comprehensive guide to watching the Billie Jean King Cup 2022 tennis competition.

How to Watch the 2022 Billie Jean King Cup:

Throughout the week, the tournament will be shown live on BT Sport. Here is the way how to watch worldwide for free.

There are several methods to access BT Sport. If you currently have BT Broadband, you can add BT TV and Sport for £15 per month to your existing plan. For £40 a month, you can add the ‘Big Sport’ bundle, which includes all BT Sport and 11 Sky Sports channels via a NOW pass.

Check out the most recent BT Broadband and BT TV promotions.
You may watch the game without committing to a contract if you have a BT Sport monthly pass.

Regular subscribers can watch matches on various devices via the BT Sport website or the BT Sport app, including laptops, smartphones, and tablets.

Matches involving the United Kingdom will also be broadcast live on the BBC Sport website.

When is the 2022 Billie Jean King Cup?

The finals will be held between Tuesday, November 8 and Sunday, November 13.
The event’s scheduling has sparked some debate.

What is The 2022 Billie Jean King Cup Finals Format:

Each nation competes against the other two countries in their group.
A tie comprises two best-of-three singles matches and one best-of-three doubles match.

Is Iga Swiatek In The Finals Of The Billie Jean King Cup?

Swiatek, the world number one, helped Poland qualify for the finals earlier this year but will not be present in Glasgow due to the short turnaround after the WTA Finals.
The WTA Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, and the Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Glasgow are separated by only one day.
Even though a few players from both events will compete, including Jessica Pegula and Coco Gauff from the United States and Barbora Krejcikova from the Czech Republic, Swiatek has stated that the “situation is not safe for our health and could cause harm.”

“I would disagree. But guess what? “It’s all about her,” ESPN cites the 18-time Grand Slam champion.
“She’s the one who has to deal with reality right now; I don’t.”
“She will be missed.”

Read More: 2022 WTA Finals Format, Live Broadcast, Schedule, Prize pool & everything you should know

Emma Raducanu Will Attend The Billie Jean King Cup Final?

No, Raducanu will not compete in the 2021 US Open while she recovers from a wrist injury.
Raducanu’s absence is a “bit of a disappointment,” according to GB captain Anne Keothavong.
“We know what she’s capable of, and it’s a shame not to have her on this team given her profile and her support for the team and the sport.” However, it is what it is.

2022 Billie Jean King Cup

“I know she’s still there for me in the background.” She might even make it to Glasgow. She’s certainly trying to concentrate on getting in shape and ready. She will be cheering from afar if she isn’t present on the sidelines.”
Harriet Dart, Heather Watson, and Katie Boulter will lead the British singles team. Alicia Barnett and Olivia Nicholls, Britain’s best women’s doubles players, will compete in the competition for the first time. This season, Barnett and Nicholls have won three doubles titles.

Who Are The Billie Jean King Cup Finals’ Star Players?

On paper, the United States appears to have four top-15 ranked singles players: world No. 3 Pegula, world No. 4 Gauff, world No. 11 Madison Keys, and world No. 14 Danielle Collins.
Gauff and Pegula are also ranked second and third in doubles.

The Canadian team is led by former US Open champion Bianca Andreescu and previous US Open runner-up Leylah Fernandez. In contrast, the Czech Republic is led by top doubles duo Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova, as well as two-time Grand Slam finalist Karolina Pliskova.
Elena Rybakina, the Wimbledon winner, represents Kazakhstan and is ranked No. 12 worldwide. Spain’s top player is Paula Badosa.

Who Are The Most Successive Countries In The Billie Jean King Cup?

The United States has won the Billie Jean King Cup an unprecedented 18 times, most recently in 2017.
The Czech Republic has been the competition’s current dominant power, with six of its 11 overall victories occurring since 2010.
Britain has finished second four times but has never won the trophy.

What Are The Finals Of The Billie Jean King Cup?

The Billie Jean King Cup, known as the Fed Cup until 2020, is an international women’s team tennis competition.

Qualifying for the finals occurred earlier this year, and 12 nations will now compete to be proclaimed 2022 champions at Glasgow’s Emirates Arena.
The 12 nations are divided into four groups, with only the group winners advancing to the semi-finals.

The groups are as follows:

  • Group A consists of Switzerland, Canada, and Italy.
  • Group B consists of Australia, Slovakia, and Belgium.
  • Group C consists of Spain, Kazakhstan, and the United Kingdom
  • Group D consists of the Czech Republic, the United States, and Poland.

2022 Billie Jean King Cup Past Winners:

  • 2021 – Russia
  • 2019 – France
  • 2018 – Czech Republic
  • 2017 – France
  • 2016 – Czech Republic
  • 2015 – Czech Republic
  • 2014 – Czech Republic
  • 2013 – Italy
  • 2012 – Czech Republic
  • 2011 – Czech Republic
  • 2010 – Italy

You may also like

Leave a Comment