Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022: When, how to watch, host country, countries, and format

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

40 teams from both the men’s and women’s draws Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2022 will feature

The EM2SPORTS has all of the information you need about the tournament.

When will the Rugby World Cup Sevens take place in 2022?

The Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 will take place from September 9 to September 11.

The qualifying and round of 16 matches will take place on the first Friday, with the quarter-finals, semi-finals, and championship final taking place on the following Saturday and Sunday.

In 2022, which country will host the Rugby World Cup Sevens?

The Rugby World Cup Sevens will be held in South Africa this year.

All games will take place at the Cape Town Stadium.
The stadium, which is located in the picturesque district of Green Point, has a capacity of 55,000 people.

Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament format for 2022
Both the men’s and women’s tournaments will be knockout style.

With 24 nations in the men’s draw, a “pre-round of 16” will be held to narrow the field.

Teams will compete in knockout matches in order to join the eight pre-qualified nations.

From then on, both the men’s and women’s draws will have 16 nations each and will follow the same format:

  1. The Round of 16
  2. Quarter-final
  3. Semi-final
  4. Championship game

Nations that are eliminated inside this pre-round of 16 or round of 16 will be eliminated from the tournament. eliminated from the tournament. compete in ‘bowl’ and ‘challenge’ side tournaments.

The full draw can be viewed here.



What exactly is rugby sevens, and how does it differ from rugby union?

Rugby sevens, as the name implies, involves teams of seven players competing in a fast-paced and typically high-scoring game.

There are a number of different rules that follow the general style of rugby union.

Some of the differences in rugby sevens are as follows:

  • On the field, each team has seven players (rather than 15)
  • Halftime is seven minutes (rather than 40)
  • Five interchanges and substitutions (rather than 8)
  • Half-time is two minutes long (rather than 10)
  • In the event of a tie, golden point extra time will be played.
  • Scrums with three players (rather than 8)
  • Conversions from drop kicks (rather than placed)
  • The team that scored last takes the field (not conceding team)

Who is the current Rugby World Cup Sevens champion?
In 2018, New Zealand lived up to its strong reputation by winning both the men’s and women’s tournaments at the World Cup.

Their men’s team defeated England 33-12 in the final, while their women’s team defeated France 29-0.

You may also like

Leave a Comment