Everything IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022: how to watch, Dates, times, schedule and more

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

The IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 will be taking place from August 25 to September 4th, 2022. There will be a total of 10 teams competing in the tournament, which will take place in KVIK Hockey Arena, Iscenter Nord at Herning/Frederikshavn, Denmark. The games will be shown live on television and online, so be sure to mark down the dates and times in your calendar!

The IIHF Women’s World Championship is one of the biggest tournaments in women’s ice hockey. It is held every four years and features some of the best players in the world. The 2022 edition will be the first to be held in Denmark and promises to be a great event.

There are 10 teams competing in the tournament, including Canada, USA, Switzerland, Japan, Finland, Sweden, Czechia, Hungary, Germany, and Denmark. The games will be held at KVIK Hockey Arena, Iscenter Nord, at Herning/Frederikshavn, Denmark, from August 25 to September 4th, 2022.

While the NHL has yet to begin its preseason, international hockey is still in full swing. The 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship is due to begin this week, less than a week after the 2022 World Juniors concluded. The opening games are scheduled for Thursday.

For the next 11 days, the world’s most incredible women’s hockey players will assemble in Europe to participate in the World Championship. Canada is the defending champion, having defeated the United States 3-2 in overtime in 2021. Captain Marie-Philip Poulin added the OT winner to her list of exploits.

This is the first time the tournament has been held in Denmark and the first time the event has taken place during an Olympic year. The IIHF has traditionally not conducted the Women’s World Championship in the same calendar year as the Olympics. Still, the organization announced in September 2021 that the top division will play a tournament.

Everything you need to know about the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship is right here.

Who will compete in the IIHF Women’s World Championship in 2022?

The IIHF Women’s World Championship features ten teams this year. They’re divided into two groups of five.

The IIHF has barred Russia and Belarus from competing in international events; hence Russia will not compete in this tournament. Sweden will replace Russia.

Where will the IIHF Women’s World Championship be held in 2022?

Denmark’s cities are Herning/Frederikshavn.
KVIK Hockey Arena and Iscenter Nord are the venues.
The IIHF World Championship is being held in Denmark this year. The tournament will be held in Herning and Frederikshavn in 2022.

Group A will play its games in Herning’s KVIK Hockey Arena, while Group B will play at Frederikshavn’s Iscenter Nord. The knockout stage games will also be split between the two.

Denmark is hosting the Women’s World Championship for the first time.

How to Watch the IIHF Women’s World Championship in 2022

U.S. television: NHL Network Live in the United States: Sling TV, FuboTV, ESPN+
Select games, as well as a semifinal and medal games, will be televised on NHL Network in the United States.

NHL Network is available on Sling TV, Fubo TV, and DIRECTV Stream. Games that are not broadcast on the NHL Network will be available on ESPN+.

TSN, RDS Canada live streams: TSN.ca, TSN app
Canadians can watch games on TSN (in English) or RDS (in French) (French-language).

TSN is available for streaming on TSN.ca, the TSN App, and TSN Direct.

When is the IIHF Women’s World Championship in 2022?

Start date: Thursday, August 25th
Sunday, September 4th
The event kicks off on August 25 with group play.

The quarterfinals will kick off the playoffs on September 1. The semifinals will take place on September 3, followed by the bronze- and gold-medal games on September 4. S

You may also like

Leave a Comment