German Open 2023: Schedule, fixtures, results & live streaming details

by Christina S. Brown
0 comment

The German Open will kick off the BWF (Badminton World Federation) competition on Tuesday, March 7, 2023. In Germany’s Mülheim, the fifth BWF competition of the year will be taking place. The coveted German Open will be held prior to the prestigious All-England Open, and many pioneers who will represent their country, including Lee Zii Jia, Kodai Naraoka, Kunlavudt Vitidsarn, Lakshya Sen, Saina Nehwal, and many others, will compete there. Lakshya Sen, who won the Silver Medal in the previous competition, will be carefully scrutinized.

The All-England Open, the most prestigious competition in the world, is customarily conducted right after the German Open. The world’s best players congregate in Mülheim a der Ruhr each year to fight for cash prizes. The German Open is currently sponsored by Yonex.

When Lakshya Sen played Kunlavut Vitidsarn in the German Open 2022, he took home the silver trophy in men’s singles. One of the best seeds in the competition is Lakshya Sen. Although India’s performance in 2022 was respectable, they will attempt to win the championship this year. Team India’s 2022 season got off to a solid start, but the finish fell short of the beginning. India finished 17th in the prior tournament edition.

German Open 2023: How to watch on TV and live stream online:

Viewers around the world can watch the action live on the following channels and here for free:

German Open 2023 Venue:

German Open 2023 will take place at Westenergie Sporthalle in Mülheim, Germany.

German Open 2023 Fixtures and prize pool

The tournament will be for 7 days and will begin from 7th March to 13th March 2023. The tournament’s prize pool will be a staggering $210,000.

Tournament fixture details:

Qualification – March 7

1st round – March 8 and March 9

2nd round – March 10

Quarter-final – March 11

Semi-final –  March 12

Final – March 13

Defending Champion

Men’s singles – (Hong Kong)  Kunlavut Vitidsarn

Women’s singles – (China) He Bing Jiao

Men’s doubles – (Malaysia) Goh Sze Fei/Nur Izzuddin

Women’s doubles –  (China) Chen Qingchen/Jia YifanJia Yifan

Mixed doubles – (Thailand) Dechapol Puavaranukron/Sapisree Taerattanachai


You may also like